Book Love · Everyday Life · Miscellany

Quotes, Quotes, and More Quotes

I’m not in my sanest mind today. That always happen when my body clock is disrupted. I feel light-headed. I can’t seem to form coherent, sensible thoughts. And since this post is going nowhere, I’ll just leave with you with words of wisdom from my favorite fictional character ever, Kinsey Millhone. And in case you’re not familiar with her, she’s the sassy, kick-ass private eye from the Alphabet Mystery Series of Sue Grafton.

The mistakes other people make are usually patently obvious. Our own are tougher to recognize.

So don’t change your nature. Change your attitude.

Odd, the memories that linger long after a life is gone.

This is the downside of relationships with men- you become a narcissist, obsessed with “beauty” issues that ordinarily you couldn’t care less about.

This was one of those moments when you need a girlfriend. When you’re down in the dumps, that’s what you do- call your best friend- or so I’ve heard. You chat. You laugh. You tell her your sad tale of woe, she commiserates, and then you take off and go shopping like normal folk.

The truth about strong emotion is that it’s difficult to sustain. Despite how victimized we feel, it’s hard work hanging on to anger, even when it’s tinged with righteousness. Holding a grudge against someone is (sometimes) more trouble than it’s worth.

The problem in dealing with people who are out of control is that the choices are so few- two being the actual number if you want to know the truth: (1) You can play counselor, thinking that perhaps no one (save yourself) has ever offered the rare tidbit of wisdom that will finally cause the light to dawn. Or (2) You can play persecutor, thinking that a strong dose of reality (also delivered by you) will shame or cajole the person into turning her life around.

and my fave of all. . .

So here’s what I’ve learned. In the passing drama of life, I’m usually the heroine, but occasionally I’m simply a minor character in someone else’s play.

One thought on “Quotes, Quotes, and More Quotes

  1. I just want to tell you that I am just newbie to blogs and actually savored this blog site. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually have beneficial articles and reviews. Appreciate it for revealing your web page.

Leave a comment